Author Topic: U.S Citizen working in Mexico  (Read 648 times)

retired82

• Global Moderator
  • I was a soldier, I will always be a soldier
U.S Citizen working in Mexico
« on: May 21, 2010, 11:14:23 AM »
Letter from employee working for  U.S telecommunication company in Mexico:

For anyone thinking we are being too hard on our illegals......READ THIS!!! and the comments also.

American working in Mexico

From the other side of the fence...

Received the following from Tom O'Malley, who was a  Director with S.W. BELL in Mexico City:

"I spent five years working in Mexico. I worked under  a tourist Visa for three months and could
legally renew it  for three more months. After that you were working  illegally. I was technically
illegal for three weeks of waiting on the FM3 approval.

"During that six months our Mexican and U.S. attorneys  were working to secure a permanent
work visa called a  'FM3'. It was in addition to my U.S. passport that I had to show each time I
entered and left the country.  Barbara's was the same, except hers did not permit her  to work.

"To apply for the FM3, I needed to submit the  following notarized originals (not copies):

1. Birth certificate for Barbara and me.
 2. Marriage certificate.
 3. High school transcripts and proof of graduation.
 4. College transcripts for every college I attended and
 proof of graduation.
 5. Two letters of recommendation from supervisors I had
 worked for at least one year.
 6. A letter from the St. Louis Chief of Police indicating
 that I had no arrest record in the U.S. and no outstanding
 warrants and, was "a citizen in good standing".
 7. "Finally, I had to write a letter about myself
 that clearly stated why there was no Mexican citizen with
 my skills and why my skills were important to Mexico. We
 called it our 'I am the greatest person on Earth'
 letter. It was fun to write."

"All of the above were in English that had to be  translated into Spanish and be certified as legal